Graphic Design Podcast :: The Deeply Graphic DesignCast

Apple Workflow Tips

Apple Workflow Tips

If you’re like most designers out there, your work machine of choice is a Mac. And if you’re like most Mac users, you have a pretty good handle on your workflow, but there is always room for improvement.

On today’s episode, we are joined by Apple consultant (and Mikelle’s new bff) Brett Nord. Brett is here to teach us all about how to make the most of our Macs, from how to maximize their longevity, to how to automate mindless tasks. All you have to worry about is what you’re going to do with all your newfound free time!

As always, we also answer a new listener question about how much to reveal when a client asks you to participate in the “debrief” process after a project.

Show Links:

discuss this post

(3) responses

Jen

August 4, 2016

This episode saved (and nearly ruined) my life!

Here’s the story.
I own my own company called Stone & Laurel where I provide creative direction and content strategy for nonprofits. I work from both my Apple Laptop and my iMac. Today, after hearing about some of these tools and tips I started my day by cleaning out the 300+ messages in my mailbox, getting stuff off my desktop and deleting stuff I don’t use anymore. But before I did that, I purchased a subscription to CrashPlan and started my update. When I finished, I downloaded a trial of Clean My Mac, and ran it.

Feeling pretty accomplished and refreshed, I opened up a HUGE content strategy I’ve been working on for one of my clients. Yesterday, I spend 6 hours listing out, month by month, every communication point. I made it from January to April. When I opened up my file, all that work was gone. It must have gotten caught in the crossfire of my computer purge. Rather than breaking something, I went to lunch. On my way back, I realized that there was a slim chance CrashPlan had made it to the last version of that file before I deleted it in my cleaning frenzie. IT WAS THERE!

So, I say thank you for the emotional roller coaster that was my morning, and also for the great tool I have found in Crash Plan. I will forever keep that membership.

reply

Jen

August 4, 2016

This episode saved (and nearly ruined) my life!

Here’s the story.
I own my own company called Stone & Laurel where I provide creative direction and content strategy for nonprofits. I work from both my Apple Laptop and my iMac. Today, after hearing about some of these tools and tips I started my day by cleaning out the 300+ messages in my mailbox, getting stuff off my desktop and deleting stuff I don’t use anymore. But before I did that, I purchased a subscription to CrashPlan and started my update. When I finished, I downloaded a trial of Clean My Mac, and ran it.

Feeling pretty accomplished and refreshed, I opened up a HUGE content strategy I’ve been working on for one of my clients. Yesterday, I spend 6 hours listing out, month by month, every communication point. I made it from January to April. When I opened up my file, all that work was gone. It must have gotten caught in the crossfire of my computer purge. Rather than breaking something, I went to lunch. On my way back, I realized that there was a slim chance CrashPlan had made it to the last version of that file before I deleted it in my cleaning frenzy. IT WAS THERE!

So, I say thank you for the emotional roller coaster that was my morning, and also for the great tool I have found in Crash Plan. I will forever keep that membership.

reply

Ed Baker

August 8, 2016

Backblaze does have a file retention time limit but it’s not quite as illustrated on the podcast. Having a computer recently fail, I was worried about my backup thinking that if I didn’t get it fixed in 30 days, I would lose my backup.

I contacted Backblaze and they said that “When (a computer fails), Backblaze will retain the most recent backup snapshot for 6 months, assuming you do not delete or transfer the backup and maintain active billing.” They further explained that “The 30 Day file retention window applies to files that are deleted or removed from the computer while the backup continues to update. If the backup is inactive, for any reason, it’s held in it’s last known state…”

Another thing that was incorrect is that you can’t use Backblaze for offline storage. You’ll still need to use Dropbox or Google Drive or a similar online storage solution. When you delete a file off of your backed-up machine it will update the backup on the next sync and then the 30 day recovery goes into effect.

reply

add to the conversation!

Leave a Reply

Browse All Episodes
Thank you. Your video is being is emailed to you now!